Search the forum,

Discuss Work Experience in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

stgiles

Hi all,
I'm hoping someone will be able to give me some guidance. I am currently studying for my 6129 Level 2 Tech cert and still have some weeks to go yet. I am really enjoying it and have high hopes of getting myself in with a qualified plumber to get some invaluable experience plus i also need to be in a work environment to gain my nvq level 2. If all goes well i would like to progress onto doing Level 3, again i would need to be working alongside a corgi registered plumber to be able to complete my portfolio.
I understand that this will probably not be paid work but i would rather do it this way than go straight into self employment with little real life experience. I,m 36 and eager to make plumbing my new career path but know it will be tough at the start finance wise. Has anyone any advice on how to make myself available and find some experience.:)

its a long hard slog and will involve writing and phoning all the gas engineers in your locality but dont expect too much as showing you what to do slows them down and costs them money also you will end up being a competitor for work..if you have any familly friends try them first even unpaid its a struggle to get someone to spare the time...there has been so much hype about the rewards that few people have questioned where all the work is going to come from for all the newly qualified people

Hi Stgiles,