Search the forum,

Discuss Ideal independent c30 boiler not turning off when thermostat is altered in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
T

timblack

Hi all,

Firstly, thanks for taking the time to read this. Secondly, apologies for any naiive use of terms as I am no professional.

I moved into a house 6 months ago, but since we booted up the heating, it has never managed to regulate itself very well. It is an Ideal Independent C30 boiler, connected to a wired Drayton RTS1 thermostat. The boiler itself seems to work well, I don't get any fault codes on the display, and it comes on and turns off at the allotted times. But what it doesn't seem to do is answer calls from the thermostat.

I have done some minor troubleshooting, the short list is below.

- switched it on and off again (I was shocked when this didn't fix it!)
- listened to the thermostat - it clicks when you move the temp up, and when you move it down again.
- taken the thermostat off the wall, looked to see that the wires were connected (which they were).

I have ordered a replacement thermostat from Screwfix to check if this is the problem, but if that doesn't solve the problem, I will need to hire a professional. Before I do though, I wondered if anyone had any advice that may some me some money.

Many thanks.

Tim Blackmore

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reply to Ideal independent c30 boiler not turning off when thermostat is altered in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Similar plumbing topics

• Question
Have a sytem boiler with unvented cylinder with 2 heating zones plus hot water in a house we moved into recently. To start with we were always amazed at the water pressure so on the odd occasion that the water was only luke warm it was easily forgiven, but over time we have come to realise that...
Replies
Views