Search the forum,

Discuss Advice Sought Following Boiler Service in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

sro80

Hi Guys,

I am looking for some advice following a boiler service earlier this week. I am not an engineer, just a home-owner. Last year (June 2013) I bought a new build property. Installed was an Ideal Logic Combi 35 boiler. A few days ago I had it services by British Gas for the first service as required.

The B/G engineer serviced and tested the unit and advised it had "passed" however the CO/CO2 emissions were high for a boiler 1yr old (but technically within the limits). He got a reading of 0.0032 (or 320ppm I believe). I have a copy of the original install paperwork and the figure there reads 0.0017.

He suggested I go back to the developer and ask them to investigate why the reading is so high. I did speak to the developer who passed it out to their plumbing contractors. The contractors contacted me and advised that a) it is within limits, and b) the readings can change based on the direction of the wind.

I find that second statement rather worrying. The contractors have agreed to come down but I feel I will be fobbed off.

With regards to the readings, is this something I need to be genuinely concerned about? Any advice for handling (possibly awkward) contractors?

Many thanks in advance.

S.