Search the forum,

Discuss Starter tools help?? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
D

dan22

Hi i was just wanting to know if anyone could point out some good tools to buy for me as im new to the game and will be doing plumbing and gas work. I also dont wana pay through the roof prices. Also any advice on what tools to buy first etc. (essential tools)

thanks dan :);)

if you look back at previous threads, youll find this has been dealt with in detail a couple of times already

I've said this before but i'll repeat myself.

Buy the best you can afford then when you can afford it buy the best.

Cheap tools are cheap for a reason. They are shyte!

Here is a wee list to start you off.

Footprints (monument) 7" and 9" (approx £16)
Knipex alligators 180mm and 250 mm (£30)
Pipeslices 22mm & 15mm (PTS £12 pair at moment)
Couple of shifters or bahco's (£6-30)
Decent 10" through tang plain screwdriver to be used for anything you need to screw, hit, dig, cut (£5)
Feather splitter (eclipse £6 or 7)
Wood chisels (£15)
Screwdriver set plain and pozi various sizes (£10- 15)
20oz hammer (£5-50)
Crawfoot (monument £20)
Box spanner set (£8)
Junior hacksaw (£3)
Big hacksaw (£7)
Pipe cutters (monument, rothenberg, ridgid £15 - 35)
Cold chisels (get the blacksmith to make you some, the ones you buy are generally shyte £30)
4lb hammer (you'll get used to it £10)
1/2" spring (£2)
8m tape (£5)
Stanley knife (£7)
Immersion key (£7)
Quickfire gas torch (£50)
Rad tail key (£3)
Boat level (£6)
14volt battery drill (bandq warehouses are selling AEG's for £54)
and hundreds of other things

Look up the tool catalogues.
Monument Knipex Rothenberg Ridgid CK Irwin Stanley etc and fill yer boots with dreams:D

Or if your a tool ***** like me..... make that list 20n times longer and have so many your Transit van is over weight !!!!

You've got great eyes Tamz ... no pencil or spirit level required !!!