Search the forum,

Discuss Scalemaster 150 water Softner leak in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all

I have a Scalemaster 150 water Softner. It seems to be leaking. I'm guessing the water is high in the salt tank which causes it to leak from the over flow.

Can anyone advice what I could do?

Attachments

• IMG_20191230_193616.jpg
    IMG_20191230_193616.jpg
    60.3 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_20191230_185835.jpg
    IMG_20191230_185835.jpg
    84.2 KB · Views: 14
  • IMG_20191230_185830.jpg
    IMG_20191230_185830.jpg
    130.6 KB · Views: 17
I would call Scalemaster in Stone and seek their advice. The level of water in the salt bin is normally determined by the timer controlling the Softener valve rotation at the end of the recharge process and not a level sensor. So there could be an issue with the Softener valve. If is does require a new valve, it is often cheaper to replace the complete softener. The softener valve is expensive and difficult to fit (achieve a water tight seal with the “O” ring to the catalytic vessel).

Alternatively the seal with the catalytic vessel may be leaking into the salt bin, causing it to increase in level after a recharge cycle. The way to test this is to recharge the softener, remove water with a mug until it is well below the over flow and mark the water level. It should not change - unless of course the softener recharges. If the water level increases it is probably a failed “O” ring seal between the valve and the vessel. To change it, requires the valve head to be removed. If that is the issue and the softener is more than 8 years old, I would change the mol sieve in the vessel at the same time. The “O” ring can be quite hard to reseal properly and will need lubricating with potable “O” ring grease.