Search the forum,

Discuss A little help with sludge busting please? in the USA area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi all,

We recently moved into an eight bed victorian B&B. Th previous owners had a very, very relaxed attitude to maintenance and improvement!
We have found two radiators that have leaked (perforated), suggesting inhibitor wasn't used for some period. On removing one on the ground floor, it was found to be very sludged up. There are two or three more radiators on the ground floor that are cool at the bottom so I'm proposing to remove them, flush them and refit.
There is a magnetic filter near the boiler that I want to clean out too.
I was hoping to avoid draining the system but thought adding some inhibitor to the tank would be a good idea.
So really, what's the correct sequence here, rads, then filter, then add inhibitor, then fill rads?
The system is fed by a plastic tank in the loft. I found this to be lukewarm last time I looked.

(PS, I've been a carpenter/builder for almost thirty years, but have very little experience in heating, so I have plenty of practical experience, just little knowledge)