Search the forum,

Discuss Washing Machine Water going into Kitchen Sink (and vice versa) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jonathan88

Hello,

I'm a complete novice when it comes to plumbing related issues so I'd be very grateful for any advice.

I constantly have problems with my kitchen sink draining really slowly, even after it's been checked for a blockage inside and outside of my flat. When my washing machine is on it fills my sink with water, and it seems to make my kitchen sink drain even slower. When I last did a wash there was still some water in the drum.

I removed the kitchen sink trap to clean it. I think I put it back as it was but it seems to have made the problem worse and now my kitchen sink is hardly draining at all.

I removed the washing machine filter to check for blockages and clean it but all the water that was in my kitchen sink started coming out of the washing machine filter hole. So rather than going out the waste pipe it's going out the side nozzle through the grey tube then seemingly into my washing machine. Here's a photo of it: tiikoni.com/tis/view/?id=3dfbd15

Does this look wired properly to you? Any help with what to do would be much appreciated!

cheers.

Welcome to the forums, the image isn`t available please try again.

I'd say it'll either be a blockage further down the line or a pipe with incorrect/no fall

here is the pic [DLMURL]http://www.tiikoni.com/tis/view/image.php?id=3dfbd15[/DLMURL]

Last edited by a moderator:
main problem I can see is that the washing machine waste connection should be angled down to the sink waste not up like you have it

What level is your flat, Ground , First ?

Are ther flats above you?

There is definitely a blockage further away from the sink, either outside the flat or inside depending where the pipe goes.

Thanks for everyone for the replies so far!