Search the forum,

Discuss Trainee breakdown engineer - Essex (help needed, quick) in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

I know as much as anyone how difficult it is finding a way to gain experience in this industry. My background is fires and fireplaces but I find the work slowing down and want to change over to boiler servicing and breakdowns (ideally contract work)

I live in Upminster and my ideal situation is to work with a company whilst I learn the ropes for breakdowns. I fully understand how to service but lack any experience in breakdowns and this holds me back on getting any sort of contract work.

Any help or advise would be much appreciated as I am close to having to give up on gas and go back to a sales job (last resort, but not far away)

Many thanks,
James

I have done some courses at Worcester, baxi and ideal but to be honest, without doing it regularly it soon slips out of your mind. But even though I have done those courses, most companies demand min 3 years experience in boiler breakdown (which comes with tests and assessments on site), and I just don't have that so I'm really stuck on where to go from here

I'm on the same boat as you mate. Currently a servicing engineer but looking to build knowledge on Repair/Breakdowns but my Employer won't provide me with the Training so I'm stuck on servicing.
I'd be happy to move to another company who will help train me up in Lanarkshire, Scotland but it's very difficult as people want the experience but not willing to provide it

Do all the free courses you can. Do some paid ones.
Learn the boiler firing sequence.

I would have thought there would have been plenty of companies in your area that would take on a ready qualified GS engineer.