Search the forum,

Discuss Starting my own Business in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jstevens

Hi

Interested in starting my own business but had a few questions.
Do i u just need to buy tradesman insurance then off i go or is there more that i have to do? i really dont know what i suppose to do. Could someone please advise me on what to do.

Thanks in advance

public liabilty normally 2 million for start ,
obviously get an accountant
keep receipts etc
also watch how quick your hair goes grey with stress so hair dye required

Thanks

Is it Public Liability insurance or Tradesman Isurance? or are they both sort of the same?
So once i get insurance i start advertising and hopefully wait for the phone calls

just ask your insurer for plumbing and gas insurance cover they will ask for how much , most go for two million which is adequate but i'm an approved contractor so need 5 million and employer is 10 million

Anyone know any cheap insurance companies for liability and van insurance?

Simply Business is quite cheap for public liability insurance. I'd suggest trawling around for van insurance as some find Aviva expensive but some find them cheap. Others find Direct Line expensive and others find them cheap.

It's sensible to have public liability insurance but the law doesn't require it.

If you're setting up as a sole trader you need to tell the taxman you're going to be (or are) self employed. Legally, this is the only thing you HAVE to do.

With your accounts you can do this via the taxman but using an accountant is much more sensible and they should save you from paying too much tax.

Good luck with your venture!!

Thanks

Im gonna get liability insurance. Just need van insurance its so expensive.

And dont forget your tax investigation insurance as we keep being reminded everyday that their coming for us !!!! rahhhhhhhh.

direct line is nice and cheap for public liability insurance.