Search the forum,

Discuss Oftec registration and gain experience in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

crplumbing

Hi All,

I was just wondering for some feedback if anyone would be kind enough to give me some answers,

I have 9 yrs plumbing, 5 yrs gas experience installing servicing and repairs. I have been gas safe registered for 5 yrs and now am due to re sit gas exams but am thinking of becoming oftec registered at the same time ( going to be expensive doing the both together).

I have no experience with oil as I have always turned this work down as I haven't been legally registered to do this, I then read on this forum that you don't actually need to be registered to do so, I wonder how you can turn up at a job not being oftec registered, how do you explain that to the customer.

If I don't need to be oftec what do I need to be? How do people get away with it?

Do you think I could simply transfer my gas boiler knowledge with a bit of reading oil boiler manuals that would be easy enough to pick up the experience on my own slowly?

I would imagine I would need to do some sort of course for installation servicing and repairs, what course would be best around the Ammanford area?

Any other advice would be most appreciated

Many Thanks

yep you can go oil with no tickets but you cant legally commission a boiler or install a tank and commission it, so better to have the quals. Then consider the su=ituation of most oil appliances in the back of beyond, meaning its best to carry another load of spares in the van that most merchants dont stock! I get all mine fm HWOS and keep around £3k of spares at anyone time, just means you can hopefully repair at one visit. Another toolbag of kit required as well, oily tools arent good in clean gas boiler kitchens :)

Hi Lame,