Search the forum,

Discuss boiler heat shields in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

crisk

Hi all (gas engineers)

Im a gas engineer, and am currently servicing numerous makes/models of boiler everyday. Some of the older types i come across with an accessible combustion chamber with main burner and heat shields (normally four surrounding) i clean off heat exchanger and brush burner and heat shields clear. obviously in a confined space i tend to breathe in this dust and have a sneezing fit and nose hurts after for a bit! This may be a stupid question but i can't seem to find out (only looked on internet so far!) what the heat shields r made of.....Is the dust harmful???? sorry if that makes me look dumb just haven't bothered to call manufacturers yet.......

Thanks

Chris

Hi all (gas engineers)

Im a gas engineer, and am currently servicing numerous makes/models of boiler everyday. Some of the older types i come across with an accessible combustion chamber with main burner and heat shields (normally four surrounding) i clean off heat exchanger and brush burner and heat shields clear. obviously in a confined space i tend to breathe in this dust and have a sneezing fit and nose hurts after for a bit! This may be a stupid question but i can't seem to find out (only looked on internet so far!) what the heat shields r made of.....Is the dust harmful???? sorry if that makes me look dumb just haven't bothered to call manufacturers yet.......

Thanks

Chris

Welcome to the forum crisk, old boilers can contain asbestos have a look at this link originally posted by mike jackson

[DLMURL]http://swbjackson.zenfolio.com/tb-140-applainces-known-to-contain-asbestos-materials.pdf[/DLMURL]

Last edited by a moderator: