Search the forum,

Discuss Best Smart Thermostat System For Viessmann 222-F Boiler? in the Plumbing Jobs | The Job-board area at PlumbersForums.net

Hi All,

I have just got a new new Viessmann 222-F Boiler & need to decide which Smart Thermostat System to get for it - I am a novice & know nothing about these things and the choices out there are very many!

My installer said he can install most of them but with certain models extra equipment may be needed in order for them to work with the 222-F.

From what I have read, the Nest seems to be the most fully featured & flexible & winner in most comparisons but apparently, I need to buy a Viessmann EA1 Extension Module so this combination is rather expensive at about £350.

Viessmann are allied with Tado I believe but they seem to have really upset many of the customers by charging a monthly fee to use the full features of their latest system & that puts me off too.

Viessmann offer their own system comprised of the Vitotrol 200 RF Thermostat with the Vitoconnect 100 OPTO 1 - this costs about £250 but I do not know how flexible & featured it is compared to say Nest.

There is on offer on for the Drayton Wiser Multizone Kit One with 2 Smart Thermostats as £188 which on the whole receives 4 star ratings but 14% state that the system is an absolute nightmare which has me concerned so I thought I would seek the experts opinions here!

Hive is apparently the cheapest & I may not need to but anything extra to make it work with the 222-F but apparently it is not as good as Nest & some of the others? Would welcome opinions!

I know there are many others out there like Honeywell, Ecobell, Netamo etc but I am on information overload as it is!

Please can you kind folks suggest what you feel is the best & cost effective system for the 222-F - I really want to have the Smart Features & Functions & to be able to monitor & control via Smart Phones/Tablets etc & features like geo fencing etc sound very desirable.